Witness

Since I’m the college director here, I get forwarded all the mail that comes from christian colleges and is sent to our church. Usually it’s just application information or alumni newsletters, but sometimes I get journals with some real gems. I was reading through an article in one of those journals from Seattle Pacific University about urban ministry and a model for evangelism/witness in the urban setting. The article was written by Raymond Bakke and in his article he said some things that apply to any area of evangelism and I wanted to share.

“I think Jesus is our model as well as our message because of the incarnation. Great preachers can come to us on a video screen. Jesus could have wired the universe with stereo on Mars and woofers and tweeters on Jupiter, and the angel choir singing to us about the gosepl. But instead ‘the Word became flesh and dwelt among us.’ I still think that’s the pattern for ministry.”

-Raymond Bakke

I literally laughed out loud. The picture of a solar system wide speaker set up just made me giggle. 🙂 But it’s so true too.

Then, almost immediately following he included a quote that really got me thinking.

“To be a witness…means to live in such a way that one’s life would not make sense if God didn’t exist.”

-Madeline L’Engle, from Walking on Water

Witness and evangelism are concepts that have come up alot in my Bible study and I’ve been thinking about what it means to be a witness to the work of Christ in my own life and in the lives of others and it has been a very encouraging and challenging time. Contemplating if my life would make much sense if God didn’t exist certainly highlights some priorities in my life.

If God didn’t exist would your life look any different? Would anyone notice?

One thought on “Witness

  1. Pam says:

    Great thoughts. Keep ’em coming!!!

Leave a Reply

