One More Step

Wow, two posts in one week, it must be New Year’s resolution time! 

Just kidding. But seriously. 

It’s not a secret that Brittany and I have been trying to take better care of ourselves lately and we’ve lost a good amount of weight over the last year. The holidays were a little brutal for me. I came to the end of the Christmas up 10 pounds, which was LAME. At this point, I needed something to jump on with and get me motivated to kick in another surge of weight loss especially since before the weight gain I had another 10 pounds I wanted to lose already. So now I have 20 pounds to think about and just watching my diet isn’t enough. Enter, A Walk to Rivendell.

Walk to Rivendell

Somebody had a link up to this website that broke down the entire journey that the Fellowship took in Lord of the Rings and breaks it down, mile-by-mile, into segments. The idea is to set a goal and try and walk/run/hike/ride the distance. 

As soon as I heard about it, I flipped! First, I couldn’t believe just how far they traveled in how short of a time. Second, I hate generic weight loss goals. The idea of “lose 20 pounds” in a generic sense of time is really amorphous to me, but the idea of walking a set distance over time intrigued me.

“At last,” I thought, “a quest worth my time!” You can tell I’ve been playing a little too much Skyrim lately. 

Anyway, I decided to take this to heart. Not nearly on the nigh-impossible scale that Frodo did, but I’m going to try for a walk from Hobbiton to Rivendell (according to the Fellowship of the Ring, not Hobbit status). I’m not putting a time frame on this because life gets crazy and honestly, I’m pretty darn motivated. Give me a nice simple goal like that and I’m in.

Path of Fellowship

So I’m going to begin keeping track for myself. I’m printing out a little map setting nice short goals since the first major leg of the trip was going from Bag End to Tom Bombadil’s house in the Old Forest which only took 98 miles……….

Yah. 98 miles is my first marker. It doesn’t get better either. The trip lasted almost a month in the story and it went 458 miles (since Tolkien is so great at including details and specifics they could figure all that out). I’m not going to be nearly as ambitious, but I decided to start this past week.

I’m doing all this walking on a treadmill so it is decidedly less epic than walking about on majestic mountains, but my goal is to get my body moving so I take what I can get.

Over the first two days taking part, I logged in 8 miles. Which felt AWESOME. I looked up in the comparison chart and I specifically wanted to hit that marker because it’s where Sam looks back and realizes that he is the farthest he had ever been from home. I love that moment and I love his courage as a character. 

Sam: This is it. 
Frodo: This is what? 
Sam: If I take one more step, it’ll be the farthest away from home I’ve ever been. 
Frodo: Come on, Sam. Remember what Bilbo used to say: “It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” 

So I’m not planning on keeping a regular update on here as to where I am at on this trip, but I might chime in with an appropriate quote on Facebook or Twitter in regards to just where in the stories I am at from time to time. Here’s to a fun little adventure!

One thought on “One More Step

  1. Colin says:

    I’ve seen this site before too and am a huge fan (though I’ve never done it). I am however taking one day this week and walking from my house to danville. If you want to join me–

Leave a Reply

