Waiting

I have been waiting for a lot things lately. 

Taxes. For the last month, Brittany and I have been checking the mail every day waiting for her W-2 to come in so we could file our taxes. It finally came a couple of days ago and after running the number we found out we are waiting on a sizeable return! But they won’t be considered (as an e-file) for a few days and we have to keep waiting to get the money! It’s exacerbating, but also really fun. 🙂 The anticipation of the money we are owed, the plans we have for it and just waiting for it to come in. But that’s not all the waiting we have been lately either.

Kittens. We foster kittens through Tony LaRussa’s Animal Rescue Foundation and we recently had a large batch of kittens and a momma who we were taking care of. We started to fall in love with some of these kitties and decided that we were going to adopt some of them as our own. Then the batch came down with a case of ringworm. They had to stay at the Foundation under quarantine until they tested clear of the ringworm. That was in late November. We visited them twice a week and suited up in quarantine gear so we could pet them and help them socialize and remember that people are good and friendly. And we waited for them to clear so we could bring some of them home. We were told many times that they were almost ready and only had a couple more weeks left when they would suddenly test positive all over again and have to start over. So now almost 2 months later, Brittany and I are going to ARF tonight to go pick up our little Hope and Hildie to come home and be our cats. The joy in my heart is palpable. I cannot shut up about this. But that’s not all the waiting we have been doing lately either.

Baby. Brittany is eight and a half months pregnant. We are the stage, biologically, in the pregnancy where the baby is pretty much done being made and now it is merely a matter of time when my firstborn daughter will join us. Her name is Henrietta by the way. She has a room with a crib, tons of fluffy pink (and other cute baby colored) things, a changing table, little outfits that make my heart burst, books for me to read to her, a rocking chair to sit in and hold her, and little bouncy jumper for her to spring around in once she can hold her head up steady. We have been waiting so long and the anticipation of her coming is driving me a little crazy. We just wnt to meet her and hold her and teach her new things. 

While I have been waiting for all of these things, it struck me that this anticipation and desire for resolution is a lot like the way I wait on God. Or maybe it strikes me as the way I should wait on God. There are bunches of Scripture that talk about waiting on God for deliverance, watching for the Lord’s return, and waiting for God to answer our needs. Skimming through the Psalms (something I have been doing lately), I was struck by all of the craziness that surrounds the one waiting on God. 

“In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.” Psalm 5:3

“Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.” Psalm 27:14

“We wait in hope for the LORD; he is our help and our shield. In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name.” Psalm 33:20-21

“Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him;” Psalm 37:7a

“LORD, I wait for you; you will answer, Lord my God.” Psalm 38:15

“I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of hte slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the LORD and put their trust in him.” Psalm 40:1-3

“I wait for your salvation, LORD, and I follow your commands.” Psalm 119:166

“I wait for the LORD, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope. I wait for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning. Israel, put your hope in the LORD, for with the LORD is unfailing love and with him is full redemption.” Psalm 130:5-7

With incredible anticipation; the way I wait for money returned to me from the IRS, the way I wait to bring kittens home, and the way I wait to meet my newborn daughter, that is the way I wait for the LORD to meet my needs and to respond to my needs. 

If you have not taken time recently to rest and sit back and look at what it is you are waiting on God for, maybe it is worth doing.

What can only God do in your life that without you find yourself anxiously pacing and waiting for Him to fill? And beyond that, are we waiting with anxiety and unsure of how things will pan out or waiting with joyful anticipation of the LORD to fulfill? I have seen God step in over and over again throughout my circumstances and I am axious and joyful to see Him show up in my life yet again. 

“He who testifies to these things says, ‘Surely I am coming soon.’

Amen. Come, Lord Jesus!” Revelation 22:20

One thought on “Waiting

  1. Pam says:

    Joe, this is amazing. What a great way to explain waiting on the Lord. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

